White-Tailed Deer

Whitetail doe 10
A white-tailed deer in Baltimore County, Maryland on October 7, 2015.

It isn’t that difficult to get close to white-tailed deer in suburban Maryland, but it is always nice. I stumbled upon a group of four while on a late afternoon hike along the Jones Falls south of the Lake Roland Dam.

There were two does and two yearlings in the group and I suspect they had just been in the stream drinking water.

Their coats have already turned from a reddish color to gray for the winter.

Whitetail Doe
A white-tailed deer in Baltimore County, Maryland on October 7, 2015.
Whitetail doe 6
A white-tailed deer in Baltimore County, Maryland on October 7, 2015.
Whitetail doe 5
A white-tailed deer in Baltimore County, Maryland on October 7, 2015.
Whitetail doe 9
A white-tailed deer in Baltimore County, Maryland on October 7, 2015.
6 thoughts on “White-Tailed Deer

    1. Thanks!

      You bet they were looking right at me.

      Although white-tailed deer in suburban areas are accustomed to being near humans, they were probably a bit nervous as I surprised them.

      I think they were waiting for nightfall to go graze on some tasty plants in a nearby park.

      Like

  1. Amazing shots, Chris. Up and close, nice and big they look. They don’t look scared, but I reckon a bit confused as to why you were taking their photos. You must have been quiet so as to not scare them. They really blend in well with the branches, bushes and leaves. Really interesting that their coat changes from bright to dull to bright again.

    Like

    1. Their tails get twitchy when they are nervous, and if they decide to run they will raise their tail high as a signal to other deer.

      After I happened upon them, I stood still and a couple of them moved through the bush to get a better look at me.

      It is currently their mating season and I’m hoping to catch a pair of males locking antlers.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I got out of my car just at nightfall in my driveway and a big doe was just 30 yards away! I’d just been to the store and was holding my bags an tried to imitate the sound of a deer. I must have done a pretty good job because the thing started trotting right straight at me! It didn’t look. It looked aggressive! Lol lol! I ran straight for the back door made it inside just in time! Guess that will teach me to mock a deer again.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. That is so funny!

    Which type of sound did you mimic? They have several calls and a few warning hoots.

    With white-tailed deer that spend a lot of time in the suburbs, it is hard to predict how they will respond to humans.

    In Baltimore County, Maryland they aren’t hunted very often and a person is much more likely to feed them peanuts or apples.

    Maybe your doe was thinking she could mooch a quick snack from your shopping bags?

    Like

Comments are closed.