Eastern Ratsnake

DSC_0596
Eastern Ratsnake at Cromwell Valley Park, Maryland on May 20, 2015.

I spotted this eastern ratsnake crossing a trail at Cromwell Valley Park on May 20, 2015. It was a adult and seemed unconcerned of my presence, allowing me to approach within a few feet of it.

I estimated the length to be about 6 feet which puts it in the average range for mature ratsnakes. The eastern rat snake is Maryland’s largest snake with the largest on record measuring 8.4 feet.

DSC_0604
Eastern Ratsnake at Cromwell Valley Park, Maryland on May 20, 2015.

DSC_0694

Eastern Ratsnake at Cromwell Valley Park, Maryland on May 20, 2015.

2 thoughts on “Eastern Ratsnake

  1. Looks like a big snake, and one that minds its own business. Great shots and the snake didn’t seem to mind at all. Here in Australia you might see the occasional snake in your backyard and if you do, the advice is always to avoid – you never know what’s poisonous here.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Mabel,

      Luckily we don’t have as many poisonous snakes in Maryland as there are in Australia. We have a few, but they are usually timid and will only strike when cornered.

      This ratsnake was big and seemed ambivalent to my presence, but who really knows what a snake is thinking?

      I didn’t get any closer than 3 feet, and then I backed off and watched it until it leisurely made its way across the trail.

      It was a cool encounter and just the kind of thing that keeps me going out into the woods with my camera.

      Regards,

      Chris

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.