Canada Geese of York Road

DSC_0080
Eight little goslings take to the water in Towson, Maryland – May 9, 2015

Part II

The little Canada geese that hatched last Wednesday are swimming now. I suspect that they made their first swim on Friday afternoon.

I’ve checked on them each day hoping to catch them in the water, but Saturday was the first time I saw them go in for a swim.  They were much more sure-footed and mobile on Saturday morning, but still seemed to be fascinated with the short grass outside their fenced drainage pond.

DSC_0139
Three days after hatching the goslings are much steadier on their feet – May 9, 2015

The short grass outside the fence is certainly easier for them to walk on, plus they seem to enjoy eating the clover that grows outside. However they are dangerously exposed in the short grass, and their parents are visibly agitated when the little gosling stray too far.

DSC_0154
These little gosling find the grass on the other side of the fence, tastier and easy to walk on – May 9, 2015

I watched the mother goose give a short honk, and the goslings immediately gathered at the fence to squirm back under it one by one. They then headed to the water for a brief swim, but it wasn’t long until they were popping back under the fence to munch on more clover.

DSC_0054
Wading into a drainage pond a few meters from a busy street in Towson, Maryland – May 9, 2015
DSC_0089
A little gosling enjoys the water in Towson, Maryland – May 9, 2015
DSC_0084
A little gosling enjoys the water in Towson, Maryland – May 9, 2015

 

I initially counted seven on Wednesday, but I noticed that there are eight of them on Saturday. Although it is possible that I missed one, I’m pretty sure that there must have been a late hatcher.

DSC_0142
A little gosling foraging for sweet clover – Towson, Maryland on May 9, 2015
4 thoughts on “Canada Geese of York Road

  1. Hi Chris,

    Thanks for the info..I guess i saw the lazy ones hahaha just like we humans they don’t wants to go home either after a holiday.hahaha
    I hope you found me under the tumbleweed in my empty site..I’m not sure how it works but i’ll get there some how hahaha..
    Thanks again.
    Piney Lady.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Piney Lady,

      I just realized you are one of my Twitter friends, welcome to my blog! No, I didn’t find your site, it seems you aren’t using Gravatar and your site isn’t linked to your screen name.

      Like

Comments are closed.