Bald Eagles of Loch Raven

I have wanted to give an update about the Bald Eagles of Loch Raven Reservoir, Maryland but I haven’t captured any decent images of them since February.

DSC_0087
Bald eagle at Loch Raven Reservoir, Maryland – April 29, 2015

I rented a boat yesterday to get a better view of the two bald eagle nests that I know about on the reservoir.  Although I have seen eagles around both nests recently, I suspect only one of them is active this year.

DSC_0090
Bald eagle at Loch Raven Reservoir, Maryland – April 29, 2015

According to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, bald eagles in the Chesapeake Bay region lay their eggs in late February. However, I think the pair I observed yesterday laid their eggs later than normal, as I did not hear any chicks as I drifted near the nest site.

DSC_0168
Bald eagle at Loch Raven Reservoir, Maryland – April 29, 2015

Their incubation period is only about a month, so if they laid eggs a bit late they should be hatching very soon. From my observations over the course of two weeks, there has been an eagle on the nest with the other returning periodically with fish.

I’m keeping tabs on them as much as my schedule allows, and will provide updates over the summer.

DSC_0103
Bald eagle at Loch Raven Reservoir, Maryland – April 29, 2015
DSC_0091
Bald eagle at Loch Raven Reservoir, Maryland – April 29, 2015

 

4 thoughts on “Bald Eagles of Loch Raven

  1. Very cool. I think it was in February when we were traveling to Baltimore that I saw a Bald Eagle swoop across the highway and land in a tree right next to the road. I was so taken back, not expecting to see this magnificent bird right on the highway. I will never forget it.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.