Yellow-bellied Sapsucker

DSC_0069a saturated
Yellow-bellied Sapsucker photographed at Cromwell Valley Park, Maryland – February 9, 2015

A wintry mix of ice and rain was in the forecast for this afternoon, but it looked like it would hold off long enough for a quick visit to Cromwell Valley Park near Towson, Maryland.

I’m glad I decided to go, because I had great luck getting woodpeckers in front of my lens today. Yes, despite its unusual sounding name, the yellow-bellied sapsucker is a type of woodpecker.

These little woodpeckers are known for drilling sap wells into the bark of trees, and then returning periodically to feed on not only the sap, but any insects that might be around.

I had unknowingly paused in front of this little guy’s tree to be quiet and listen for a moment when he showed up to check his wells. Notice the line of tiny holes in the tree bark.

This is most certainly a male since he is sporting a red throat patch, whereas the females do not.

Yellow-bellied Sapsucker photographed at Cromwell Valley Park, Maryland - February 9, 2015
Yellow-bellied Sapsucker photographed at Cromwell Valley Park, Maryland – February 9, 2015

 Click for information on Cromwell Valley Park

Note: I bumped up the color saturation in the top images as an experiment; while it does produce a more vivid image, I’m not sure how I feel about over modifying images in a blog that is part nature journal. The bottom image was cropped and the exposure was brightened a little. 

 

2 thoughts on “Yellow-bellied Sapsucker

  1. Thanks Mike,

    I felt very lucky today when I stopped in front of his tree to be quiet and see what was moving in front of me.

    Just a few days ago, I was over at Victor Rakmil’s site commenting on how skilled woodpeckers are at keeping a tree limb between you and them.

    Speaking of Victor, if you haven’t discovered his site yet, check it out when you have the time.

    After viewing the content of your site, Nature Has No Boss, I’m you’ll enjoy his flora and fauna galleries.

    Regards,

    Chris

    PS

    Here is a link to Victor’s site: http://www.rakmilphotography.com/

    Like

Comments are closed.