Canada Geese on a Sunday Afternoon

DSC_0210
Canada Geese glide near the shoreline at Loch Raven Reservoir – February 1, 2015

Canada Geese are such a common sight here in Maryland that they seldom draw my attention, but something about this pair made me take notice.

I was sitting on a deadfall tree waiting for something interesting to come into the range of my camera, when these two glided up to an adjacent deadfall.

DSC_0189

 

They were kind of being playful with each other; plus, their proximity to the ice on the branches made me train my lens on them and I fired off about a dozen shots.

Only later did I notice the water droplets dripping from the male’s mouth and on the moss he had scooped up.  I ended up liking the string of photos and I only wish I took some of them nuzzling each other.

DSC_0201

Common or not, Canada Geese are elegant birds and I’m glad to have shared a moment with these two.

 

DSC_0210

2 thoughts on “Canada Geese on a Sunday Afternoon

Comments are closed.