An Update About Creative Nonfiction 315

DSC_0626
An osprey catches a fish – Photographed at Loch Raven Reservoir, MD on October 26, 2014

February 3, 2015

Dear Readers,

I created this blog last year for an English course I was taking at Towson University. The title of that course was English-315, Creative Nonfiction, and I simply named the blog Creative Nonfiction 315.

The course was designed to improve originality and personal style in descriptive writing through the creative process of keeping a hand written and sketched nature journal.

My professor, Steven Heaney, allowed me to use a camera instead of a sketchbook and for that I am truly grateful. His course kick-started my desire to go out into the woods with a camera and it has been a great experience.

I completed the course several months ago, and I’ve decided to keep the blog going. I’m even sticking with the name Creative Nonfiction 315; not only as a small gesture of thanks and respect to Professor Heaney, but because Creative Nonfiction fits my idea of what photography is.

As long as one doesn’t run wild with Photoshop or special effects, photography is nonfiction and no matter how you slice it, there is a creative element to photography.

This blog will continue evolve with my skills and interests, and I truly hope you are enjoying the pictures.

Regards,

D. Chris Draughn

PS

All the photos you’ll see on this blog were shot by me with a Nikon D3200 DSLR. Most recently I’ve been using the NIKKOR AF-S-DX 50-300mm lens.

Copyright © Creative Nonfiction 315, 2014 All Rights Reserved. No part of this website may be reproduced without D. Chris Draughn’s expressed written consent.

Noncommercial use is allowed, provided proper credit is given to Creative Nonfiction 315 and D. Chris Draughn.

