Bald Eagles of Loch Raven

Part II of Bald Eagles of Loch Raven

I went back to Loch Raven Reservoir, Maryland today, and thought I was in Alaska with all the bald eagles flying around. I can confirm sighting eight bald eagles at once, but when I was on the Loch Raven Drive Bridge I heard people tossing around much higher numbers.

DSC_0684
A juvenile bald eagle grabs and misses at a dead fish in thin ice – Loch Raven Reservoir on February 1, 2015

I won’t repeat their numbers because I have no idea how they were de-conflicting their count, but I did happen across a naturalist friend whose numbers I do trust, and he counted 24 bald eagles on January 17, 2015.

I explored the northern shore line just east of the bridge for a few hours, and found numerous roost sites where the ground beneath them was covered in thick layers of guano. So I do believe the high numbers are plausible.

DSC_0702
A second attempt at plucking the fish from the ice proves successful – Loch Raven Reservoir on February 1, 2015

I’m guessing that greater numbers of bald eagles that normally winter at the Conowingo Dam on the Susquehanna River are coming down to Loch Raven Reservoir.

You can see plenty of action from the Loch Raven Drive Bridge; as the eagles are scavenging dead fish from the thin layer of ice currently covering the water around it.

DSC_0436
Juvenile bald eagles vie for dominance – Loch Raven Reservoir on February 1, 2015

Stay tuned, I’ll be posting more photos as I get them sorted, today’s photos are just a preview.

DSC_0794
An adult bald eagle surveys the water below – Loch Raven Reservoir on February 1, 2015

 

Read Part I of Bald Eagles of Loch Raven 

 Local readers: see Maps & Notes for viewing tips

 

