Common Self-Heal

 

Click on the images to view larger size

SH 1

 SH butterfly

Prunella Vulgaris (Common Self-Heal)

I spotted these flowers on a hillside just above Loch Raven Reservoir, Maryland, their tiny purple blooms caught my attention. The flower tops are no bigger than an inch and a half, and I thought they made an interesting macro photography subject, as the deep purple new blooms resemble eyes, and the lighter purple full blooms ears or a tribal headdress.

In the top photo I see the flower on the left tossing me a wink while his decked out buddy grins. I was lucky enough to have a butterfly stop by as I was focusing my camera on a neighboring pair.

I later found out this plant is the Common Self-Heal, an herb used to make medicinal teas and used in poultices to promote healing in flesh wounds.

